Defense and 4th year

PhD defense and 4th year

A PhD lasts 3 years. Hence you must defend your thesis before the end of your 36th month of doctoral contract. If this is not possible you must request an authorization, and register for a 4th year. However, each university has its own rules. This is what we know at mid-September XXXX.

Legal year

  • The begining of the legal year has shifted to the 1st of September. However, most universities extend the duration of the previous year up to the 30th of September. Registration is required, for all years, from these dates:
  • PSL/OP: 1st September 2019
  • UPSaclay: 1st September 2019
  • SU: 11st September 2019
  • USPC/P7: 1st September 2019

4th year registration

Whatever this date, registration rules depend on the university. You may benefit from a "light" registration or a full fledge one.

  • PSL/OP:
  • Full fledge registration for all defenses after the XXX.
  • Specific authorisation and a proof of funding until the defense are required.
  • You may be refunded of part of the fees after the defense.
  • UPSaclay:
  • Defense before the 31st of December: "light" registration. (in French)
  • Defense after the 31st of December: full fledge registration. (in French)
  • See the document on registration. The English version predates the new "arrêté", and is probably obsolete. It may help as a database for the french administrative language, but you should check the more recent French version.
  • SU:
  • See the informations.
  • Defense before the 15th of December 2019: "light" registration - No fees.
  • Defense after the 15th of December: full fledge registration.
  • UP
  • Defense before the 30th of November 2019: "light" registration - No fees.
  • ("Le prolongement de l’inscription universitaire de deux mois, soit du 1er octobre au 30 novembre 2019 pour les doctorants en troisième année est autorisé sous conditions d’une soutenance de thèse avant le 30 novembre 2019. Le doctorant effectuera son inscription administrative avec dérogation mais n’acquittera pas les droits de scolarité.")
  • Defense after the 30th of November 2019: full fledge registration.
  • Specific authorisation and a proof of funding until the defense are required.
  • See the help file prepared by Clément Perrot (in French).


  • It is with great sadness that we learn of the sudden death of Manuel Berthet on Friday 3 December in a tragic road accident. The accident that took his life also seriously injured his partner Maud, whose life is not in danger. Their one-year-old child, Silvère, was unharmed.

A former student of the Ecole Normale Supérieure de Paris, Manuel had completed the Master 2 AAIS course in 2011-2012, before passing the agrégation in physics in 2013. He then started a PhD thesis in the radio astronomy laboratory of the ENS, which he chose to interrupt in 2017 to devote himself fully to teaching.

Manuel was a teacher in preparatory classes at the lycée Chrestien de Troyes.

The physics department of the ENS, and in particular the astrophysics team, his former comrades and colleagues of the preparation to the agrégation of physics of Montrouge, as well as the whole doctoral school, associate themselves with the pain of his family and present them their most sincere condolences.

The farewell ceremony will take place at the Crematorium of Mâcon (Saône-et-Loire), on Monday 13 December at 10:30 am. Manuel would have been 32 years old on that day.

  • 26 November 2021: Opening of the 2022 call for thesis projects. PhD advisor can submit their PhD projects on their ADUM account up to January 30th, 2022.
  • 05 July 2021. Accepted for a doctoral contract: AUCLAIR Constant, BALLERINI Giulio, BARRÈRE Paul, BRIGHI Emile, CERARDI Nicolas, COULON Xavier, GALLO Stefano, GODINAUD Leïla, GUERRA Corentin, HAFFOUD Paolo, HENAULT Elsa, KONAKA Mina, LALLEMENT Manon, LAPEL Axel, MASSON Adrien, MANZINI Davide, MAUDUIT Emilie, MERIOT Romain, PAGNINI Giulia, PANEK Emilie, SACCARDI Andrea, TEINTURIER Lucas, TOURENQ Sébastien, VERMERSCH Julie
  • 05 July 2021 Waiting liste by alphabetical order: ABD EL DAYEM Karim, GUÉ Jordan, GOLDMANN Serena, HUET Paul, JOLLY Rodrigo, KHALIL Yassin Rany, LOMAZZI Paul, MAKNAVICIUS Monika, MARIANI Vincenzo, ROTH Olivier, VEILLET Roméo, YOUSFI Fayin
  • 09 june 2021: Apply for teaching missions at Université de Paris. Deadline, 30th June, 5pm
  • 20 May 2021 : Apply for teaching missions at Observatoire de Paris. Deadline, 16th June
  • 18 May 2021: Congratulations to Mathias Nowak, Olivier Chesneau Prize 2021 for his PhD thesis entitled: "The 2017 conjunction of Beta Pictoris b: the life and death of PicSat, followed by a VLTI/GRAVITY observation of the re-emergence" at Paris Observatory
  • 1 February 2021: The AAIF ED competition is open. Please apply before 22 April 2021, 5pm. The rules, subjects, can be found in the enrolment page.
  • 29 January 2021: The call for doctoral contracts of the Physics of Infinite initiative runs until 20 February
  • 4 January 2021: The ED AAIF wish you a happy new year.
  • 1 December 2020: PhD advisor can submit their PhD projects up to Januray 31st, 2021.