Doctoral School Competition

The Astronomy and Astrophysics Doctoral School receives 20 full doctoral contracts (1600 euros net per month for 3 years) from its different universities. These contracts are awarded through a joint competition that takes place every spring.

Calendar of the 2023 competition
  • Applications must be submitted by 2O April 2023, 23h59 CEST.
  • Applications will be examined by the jury on 10 May 2023. Selection will be based on academic results, suitability of the training for the thesis subject, letters of recommendation.
  • The selected candidates will be invited to an audition which will take place on 22, 23, 24, 25 and 26 May 2023.
  • All contracts will be awarded by the final jury on 30 May 2023.
  • The Doctoral School Board will validatethe results before they are published on line.
  • The selected candidates have one week to accept or refuse the contract offered to them

Applications must be submitted on the Doctoral School website (application) between February 1st and April 20th, 2023

Course of the audition

The audition lasts 20 minutes. A 12-minute presentation should outline previous research experiences (their scientific objectives, methodologies used and results obtained) and should show that the candidate understands the issues at stake in the proposed topic and how they are able to make a significant contribution to it. Typically, the candidate will spend 2 minutes introducing him/herself, 5 minutes describing his/her research experiences (mainly the M2 internship) and 5 minutes on the thesis topic and its issues.

The presentation will be followed by 8 minutes of questions.

The auditions will take place via Zoom only.


On May 30th, the jury will award all available contracts and will constitute a waiting list, the ranking of which is not disclosed. Selected candidates are asked to respond to this proposal within a week to allow for the proper management of withdrawals.


  • Candidates on the main list funded by the ED AAIF competition: ABELLO Alex, BESNARD Anaïs, CARINOS Emile, CHAPPUIS Loris, COLOGNI Romane, CROS Lucie, DIALLO Nimatou Seydi, FLORES MORALES Sofia, FORT Antoine, FRANCEZ Théo, GAYOUX Théo, GIRARDOT Adrien, KOLHE Neel, LECLEF Apolline, LOIRE Baptiste, MALANDRINO Rosa, MAZUREK Helena, MEAGHER Nathan, TEYSSEYRE Pauline, URSO Irene, VARESE Maxime
  • Candidates on the complementary list for the ED AAIF competition, in alphabetical order: AUBRY Camille, BARONI Marco, BOUGAKOV Alexandre, CHANDRA Kumar, CUVELLIER Jean-Baptiste, DEBORDE Robin, DIAS COELHO MARQUES José, EVANGELISTA Lorenzo, GALOIS pierre, GHISALBERTI Ambre, KORDT Aron, KWOK Ka Wang, LECHIEN Thibault, LIBERATORI Alessio, MAI Nicolas, MAZDE Kratika, MEHTA Nishil, METAUT Guillaume, MONDELIN Maëlie, NARDELLI Laura, NOOR Mehdi, PARICHHA Abineet, RAZA Md Salman, SEEBARUTH Thershi, SRIKANTH Rohan, TEDROS Jean, TOURESSE Jade, TRIPATHI Priyamvad, VALOUR Thomas
  • 1st February 2023: Applications for the 2023 Doctoral School Competition are accepted until April 20th, 2023.
  • 13th December 2022: Opening of the 2023 call for thesis projects. PhD advisor can submit their PhD projects on their ADUM account up to January 31st, 2023.
  • 7th December 2022: Congratulations to Tony Bonnaire, Prix de la thèse des Chancellerie des Universités de Paris
  • Results of the ED AAIF 2022 competition.
  • Main list, by alphabetical order: ABD EL DAYEM Karim, AOULAD LAFKIH Samy, APPAVOU Maria, AYA Alnajjarine, AYKROYD Christopher, BERAT Jack, BERRIOT Etienne, BISERO Sofia, BOUCHET Tristan, DEGOTT Lucie, FERNANDEZ Sébastien, FERRONE Salvatore, GUO Sicen, GUTIERREZ Yann, HERVAS PETERS Fabian, HUET Paul, JOSSÉ Léna, LEBEAU Théo, MAUREL Alice, PAQUEREAU Louise, ROUILLÉ Erwan, SHAJI Aashiya, STREEL Nicolas, VERKERCKE Sébastien, WARGNIER Antonin
  • Supplementary list, in alphabetical order: BAIRAGI Anirban, BHATT Maulik, BIANCHETTI Alessandro, CHARLIER Jean, CHITAN Ariel, DAHOUMANE Ryan, GUTTERIDGE Chloe, HOUEIBIB Ahmed, KESSLER Nina, MZERGUAT Slimane, PAIPA LEON David, PLASSE Clara, SAVORGNANO Sofia, TARRASSE Maxime, VEDDER Casper, VENKATARAMANI MALATHI Sabarish
  • Congratulations to Alexis Marret who has been awarded the European Physical Society Plasma Physics Division PhD Research Award