Elbereth conference

The conference of PhD students in Astronomy and Astrophysics of Ile-de-France will be held from February 26th to 28th, 2020 at the Institut d’Astrophysique de Paris. This is one of the most important events in the year for PhD students. Elbereth is a free and informal conference organised by PhD students for PhD students within the community of Astronomy and Astrophysics of Ile-de-France.

This conference is the ideal way to discover and present your PhD subject, share and exchange with an non-expert audience in a relaxed atmosphere.

All PhD students can present their subject of study, but it is possible to not make a presentation and attend talks taking advantage of the side events (Visit of Observatoire de Paris, cafes and , buffet, etc.). PhD students from ED127 are strongly encouraged to register and present their work.

Every year, Elbereth needs new volunteers to help with the organisation of the conference. If you want to participate in this fulfilling experience, you can send an e-mail to this adress : loc.elbereth@sympa.obspm.fr

Elbereth web site


  • 1 February: The AAIF ED competition is open. Please apply before 22 April 2021, 5pm. The rules, subjects, can be found in the enrolment page.
  • 29 January 2021: The call for doctoral contracts of the Physics of Infinite initiative runs until 20 February https://ipi-sorbonne-universite.fr/2021-cpd-ipi-procedure/
  • 4 January 2021: The ED AAIF wish you a happy new year.
  • 1 December 2020: PhD advisor can submit their PhD projects up to Januray 31st, 2021.
  • 28 October 2020: Further congratulations to Claire Guépin, also winner of the Prix solennel de la Chancellerie des Universités de Paris 2020.
  • October 6, 2020: Congratulations to Claire Guépin, Daniel Guinier-SFP 2019 Award.
  • October 2, 2020: Congratulations to Léa Bonnefoy, L’OREAL-UNESCO Young Talent Award.
  • July 1st. Results of the 2020 competition. Main list by alphabetical order: AIMAR Nicolas, ARMANTE Mélanie, CHICHE Simon, COURTOT Ariane, DHOUIB Hachem, KOURDOURLI Mehdi, LE PIVERT-JOLIVET Tania, LEROY Lucas, LESEIGNEUR Yann, LUASHVILI Anna, MÂLIN Mathilde, MCINTOSH Ophélie, MICHOTTE DE WELLE Bayane, NOURRY Valentin, PARESSANT Keegan, PIERROT Arsène, RICHARDSON Thomas, TEP Kerwann, VINOGRADOV Alexander, WICKER Raphaël
  • July 1st. Results of the 2020 competition. Waiting list by alphabetical order: BEDOUCH Antoine, BENKADOUM Yaniss, BIGOT Axelle, CRITON Benjamin, DE BATZ DE TRENQUELLÉON Bruno, FORERO-SANCHEZ Daniel, GARMIRIAN Félix, GASPAR GOROSTIETA Iveth, GHESQUIERS Nathanaël, GROLLERON Guillaume, HOWARD Saburo, JANNAUD Thomas, KOSKAS Rémy, MILCARECK Gwenaël, MUNAIBARI Edhah, PELLEGRIN Théo, PELLOUIN Clément, QUILLEY Louis, SAMPATHKUMAR Pranav, STEICHEN Valentin, VARAEI SINA
  • April 13rd, 2020: Congratulations to Doogesh KODI RAMANAH for the SF2A 2020 thesis award.