Doctoral School Contest

The Astronomy and Astrophysics Doctoral School receives 19 full doctoral contracts (1430 euros net per month for 3 years) from its different universities. These contracts are awarded through a joint contest that takes place every year.

Calendar of the 2021 contest
  • Applications must be received before April 22nd, 2021.
  • The files will be examined by the jury May 10th, 2021. Selection is based on academic grades, adequation of academic education with PhD project, reference letters.
  • The selected candidates will be convened for a hearing that will take place on May 25th, 26th, 27th, 28th and 31st, 2021.
  • Some candidates will be able to propose a contract after the audition.
  • The remaining contracts will be awarded by the final jury on July 5th, 2021.

Applications must be posted through the website of the Doctoral School (application) from February 1st to April 22th, 2021.

Course of the hearing

The hearing lasts 20 minutes. A 12-minute presentation should outline previous research experiences (their scientific objectives, the applied methods, and the results obtained) and how the applicant understand the PhD subject and how he or she intend to tackle the subject. Typically, the applicant should use 2 minutes to introduce his/her academic education, 5 minutes to describe his/her previous research experience (mainly the Master thesis), and 5 minutes about the PhD project and its stakes.

The presentation will be followed by 10 minutes of questions.

Auditions will be held with Zoom.


The first jury (June 1st, 2021) can award up to 1/3 of the doctoral contracts available. Selected candidates are notified directly by email.

The final jury will award all the remaining contracts available and constitute a waiting list. The selected candidates are asked to respond within a week to this proposal in order to allow an adequate management of the withdrawals.


  • 1er février : Le concours de l’ED AAIF est ouvert. Candidater avant le 22 avril 2021, 17h. Les règles de candidatures, les sujets sont disponibles sur la page recrutement.
  • 29 janvier 2021 : L’appel à projet de l’initiative Physique des Infinis De Sorbonne Université est ouvert jusqu’au 20 février :
  • 4 janvier 2021 : L’ED AAIF vous présente ses meilleurs vœux pour 2021.
  • 1er décembre 2020 : L’appel à sujet de thèse est ouvert jusqu’au 31 janvier 2021.
  • 28 octobre 2020 : Nouvelles félicitations à Claire Guépin, également Prix solennel de la Chancellerie des Universités de Paris 2020.
  • 6 octobre 2020 : Félicitations à Claire Guépin, prix Daniel Guinier-SFP 2019.
  • 2 octobre 2020 : Félicitations à Léa Bonnefoy, prix Jeunes Talents L’OREAL-UNESCO.
  • 1er juillet. Résultats du concours 2020. Liste principale par ordre alphabétique : AIMAR Nicolas, ARMANTE Mélanie, CHICHE Simon, COURTOT Ariane, DHOUIB Hachem, KOURDOURLI Mehdi, LE PIVERT-JOLIVET Tania, LEROY Lucas, LESEIGNEUR Yann, LUASHVILI Anna, MÂLIN Mathilde, MCINTOSH Ophélie, MICHOTTE DE WELLE Bayane, NOURRY Valentin, PARESSANT Keegan, PIERROT Arsène, RICHARDSON Thomas, TEP Kerwann, VINOGRADOV Alexander, WICKER Raphaël
    - 1er juillet. Résultats du concours 2020. Liste complémentaire par ordre alphabétique : BEDOUCH Antoine, BENKADOUM Yaniss, BIGOT Axelle, CRITON Benjamin, DE BATZ DE TRENQUELLÉON Bruno, FORERO-SANCHEZ Daniel, GARMIRIAN Félix, GASPAR GOROSTIETA Iveth, GHESQUIERS Nathanaël, GROLLERON Guillaume, HOWARD Saburo, JANNAUD Thomas, KOSKAS Rémy, MILCARECK Gwenaël, MUNAIBARI Edhah, PELLEGRIN Théo, PELLOUIN Clément, QUILLEY Louis, SAMPATHKUMAR Pranav, STEICHEN Valentin, VARAEI SINA
  • 13 avril 2020 : Félicitations à Doogesh KODI RAMANAH, prix de thèse 2020 de la SF2A.